About Rowing New South Wales

The New South Wales Rowing Association (NSWRA) was formed in 1878.  On July 1st, 2011 the Association adopted a new constitution and became Rowing New South Wales Incorporated (RNSW).

The initial impetus for the formation of the Association was a challenge from our neighbouring state of Victoria (or colony as it was in those days) for a race to be conducted in 1879. Things haven't changed much since - just more states to challenge for racing supremacy in Australia.

Since 1878 the number of rowing clubs in NSW has grown from three clubs at the time the Association was established to more than 35 clubs today, not counting a host of schools with rowing programs.

Rowing New South Wales governs the sport of rowing in NSW. It decides on the rules for racing in NSW, determines boat classes for racing events, sets an annual calendar of regattas, and promotes the rowing in this state.

Through the club and school system the sport caters for male and female rowers from elite to novice level including athletes with a disability.

Membership of Rowing New South Wales is around 5000.

Sydney International Regatta Centre - photo provided by Melba Studios

Office Bearers

President Stephen Donnelley Chairman of the Board
Deputy President Stephen Handley Board Member
Director Deanna Fekete Board Member
Director Adam Vine-Hall Board Member
Director Victor Walter Board Member
Director Danika Wright Board Member
Director Liam James Board Member
Director Sarah Cook Board Member
Director Sarah Hill
Board Member
Board Secretary Anthony Blower (CEO)
Public Officer Anthony Blower (CEO)
Hon. Medical Officer Dr Phillip Sharp 
Chairman of Competition Commission Stephen Handley 
Boat Race Official Examiners Victor Walter
Tim Wainman
Greg Smith
Ron Beattie
Councillor to Rowing Australia Sarah Cook
Delegate - NSW Olympic Council Doug Donoghue AM
Delegate - Commonwealth Games Association
(NSW Division)
Margaret Mackenzie OAM
Delegate - Maritime Rowing Steering Committee  Murray Clarke OAM
Trustees to Laurie Stepto Memorial Trust Fund
  • Andrew Rowley AM - Chairman
  • J. Doug Donoghue  AM
  • Vacant

Rowing New South Wales Life Members

Current Life Members Mr A Brown Past Life Members Mr P Cayzer OAM
Mr J Coates AC Mr E Chapman OAM
Mr S Derwin Mr D Croot AM
Mr K Jameson OAM Mr E Dorsch
Mrs M Mackenzie OAM Mr J Lanning
Mr B Moynahan OAM Mr G Parlby OAM
Mr G Neilson OAM Mr M Reddan OAM
Mr C Noel OAM Mr R Stride
Mr D Sollom Dr W Webb OAM
Mr N Garratt AM Mr M Wood MBE
Mr E O'Hanlon   

By the way, if you are interested in knowing who won the 1879 eights race over four miles, it was NSW - by 6 lengths. But to balance the record, we note that the first race between Victorian and New South Wales crews was in 1878, prior to the formation of the NSWRA. The 1878 inaugural race was won by Victoria.

For this slice of history we acknowledge May A. L (1970) Sydney Rows: A Centennial History of Sydney Rowing Club. Sydney Rowing Club: Abbotsford.




Rowing NSW relies heavily on
the support of a number of
Sponsors, Merchandisers
and Service Providers