Rowing Australia Rower of the Year Awards 2017

Jan 30, 2017

Rowing Australia held the Rower of the Year function in Canberra on Satuday the 28th January 2017. 

The event is held to celebrate the wonderful successes of the Australian Team from the previous season, as well as to celebrate the successes of athletes who have recently retired from the sport.

"Australia’s golden girl, Kim Brennan AM, has proven she is Rowing’s Number One at the 2016 Hancock Prospecting Rower of the Year Awards, winning the inaugural Gina Rinehart Rowing Leadership Award as well as Female Rower of the Year and Rower’s Rower." (Rowing Australia)

The Australian Men's Quadruple Scull was named the Male Crew of the year (featuring NSW Athletes Sasha Belonogoff and Cameron Girdlestone).

Lyall McCarthy (who coached Kim to her successes) was named Coach of the Year

Terry Mulligan was named 2016 Volunteer of the Year

There were a number of notable retirees present at the evening, including Gavin Bellis, Scott Brennan, David Crawshay, Liz Kell (pictured below with RA President Rob Scott ) and Sam Beltz

Liz Kell presented with a gift from Rowing Australia celebrating her 2006 World Championship in the Women's Double Sculls

To see more photos on RA's Facebook page click here




Rowing NSW relies heavily on
the support of a number of
Sponsors, Merchandisers
and Service Providers